Tangible Personal Property taxes become delinquent on April 1st each year at which time a 1.5% penalty per month is added to the bill. Within 45 days after the date of delinquency, the Tax Collector is required by law to advertise a list of the delinquent taxpayers one time in a local newspaper. The costs of this advertising are then added to the tax notice.
Florida Statutes require the Tax Collector to issue Tax Warrants prior to April 30th of the next tax year on all unpaid Tangible Personal Property taxes. The Tax Collector must then petition the Circuit Court for an order ratifying and directing the levy, seizure and sale of the property for the amount of the unpaid taxes and costs.
The Tangible Personal Property Tax is an Ad Valorem tax assessed against the furniture, fixtures, and equipment located in businesses and rental property. Tangible Personal Property Tax also applies to structural additions of a mobile home.
The assessed value of the tangible personal property is determined by the property appraiser. The assessment is based on a January 1 status. If a business was open, a unit was rented or a mobile home was owned on January 1, an assessment will be made. There is no Statutory provision for pro-ration in the event of a mid-year sale, closure or liquidation.
Tangible Personal Property taxpayers are to submit a dr405a.pdf (hendryprop.com) to the Property Appraiser’s Office annually, prior to April 1, to avoid a penalty and possibly be eligible for the Amendment 1 Exemption of up to $25,000.
It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to notify the Property Appraiser’s office of any changes to the tax roll, such as name, address, location, addition or deletion of tangible personal property.
For questions concerning assessments or filing information, please contact the Hendry County Property Appraiser at (863) 675-5270 or at their website at Hendry County Property Appraiser (hendryprop.com).
Tax Collector Responsibility
The Tax Collector is responsible for mailing the tax notices and collecting all taxes due. Tax notices are mailed out in November of each year with payment due by March 31.
Unpaid taxes become delinquent on April 1. If taxes are not paid, warrants are issued prior to April 30th of the next year on all unpaid tangible personal property taxes. Additional penalties, interest, advertising and collection costs are added to the total due.
This office has engaged the services of a third-party vendor to collect delinquent tangible tax warrants. The Tax Collector may levy/seize and sell personal property as required by the Florida Statutes through a court order.