CONCEALED WEAPON LICENSE APPLICATIONS
Legislation passed in 2014 created a partnership between the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) and Florida’s tax collectors. The Concealed Weapon Intake System (CWIS) provides an opportunity for you to complete and submit your application or renewal in person at our LaBelle office.
In addition to the convenience, the CWIS streamlines the screening and review process, thereby reducing the time it takes FDACS to issue a license once the electronic package arrives in Tallahassee.
To request an appointment, call our office at 863-675-5280. When you arrive for your appointment, a Tax Collector employee will direct you to a computer station where you will complete an electronic version of the application form. Once you have completed the electronic application, the employee will review your application and notarize it, take your photograph, electronically scan your fingerprints, and take your payment. You should be able to complete hte entire process in less than an hour.
Promptly notify us if you need to reschedule or cancel your appointment.
Below are answers to some of the more commonly asked questions about the CWIS:
What Should I Bring With me to the Tax Collector’s Office?
You should have with you the following items/documents when you arrive at the Tax Collector’s office:
- A picture ID. A driver license or state-issued identification card is acceptable
- All legal documents that reflect a change of name, i.e., marriage certificate, divorce decree, court affidavit effecting legal name, etc.
- A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms that you are proficient with a firearm
- If you have ever been arrested, you should bring with you certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you
- If you were born outside the United States, or if you are a permanent legal resident alien, you will need to bring official documentation with you that confirms your citizenship status. Review eligibility information concerning citizenship requirements.
- We recommend you review the application instructions and Florida Statute 790 for additional items/documents you may need
How Much Does it Cost to Apply for a Florida Concealed Weapon License?
|License Type||Fingerprint Processing Fee||Initial License Fee||Service Fee||Total|
|Concealed Weapon or Firearm: Florida Resident||$42||$55||$22||$119|
|Concealed Weapon or Firearm:
Out of State Resident
|Florida Law Enforcement Officer: Active||None||$55||$22||$77|
|Florida Law Enforcement Officer: Retired within preceding year||None||None||None||None|
|Florida Law Enforcement Officer: Retired more than one year||$42||$30||$22||$94|
|Consular Security Official||None||$300||$22||$322|
How Can I Confirm that I am Eligible for a Concealed Weapon License Before Going to the Tax Collector’s Office?
How Long Will it Take for the Division to Process my Concealed Weapon License Application?
By law, FDACS must either issue a license or deny an application within 90 days of receiving a complete application. However, the actual turnaround time will ultimately depend on the workload facing FDACS employees in Tallahassee and may be substantially less than 90 days.
You can check the status of your application online using your tracking number.